1. Preparation

Feel free to contact us (preferably by phone) and we will make an appointment for a consultation. Important: you (i.e. the patient) have to come to the clinic in person and bring along photocopies of all your conventional medical records. It is not enough to send the documents by email alone. We charge a fee of €65 for this detailed initial consultation.

Your cancer situation is discussed in detail in the initial consultation. Should this result in the need for further examinations, they will be conducted by Prof. Dr. Maar. For example, a more precise localisation of metastases and their spreading may be required by F-choline PET-CT.

After this first exploratory consultation, you can calmly consider whether to take the proposed treatment. The duration and cost of the therapy will have been clarified and you will have been told that “day clinic” means that rest periods are provided for and that you will receive daily treatments over a longer period of time.
For legal reasons, you (i.e. the patient) will sign a detailed treatment contract. The treatment may of course be interrupted or terminated prematurely at any time after signing. A fee agreement must be signed separately from the treatment contract.

2. Treatment

Patients travelling from a distant location have to arrange for accommodation during the treatment period – and we are happy to help you with this. Pyjamas and various bath towels should be brought along for the treatment itself. Depending on the severity of the disease, you should be prepared for a treatment period of 2 to 6 weeks. Treatment takes place Monday to Friday for about 5 hours each day. You may be treated at weekends in exceptional cases. The treatment is an intensive therapy.

For detailed information on the actual treatment, see “Our treatment concept”.

3. Formal conditions

For privately insured patients or members of Beihilfekassen (medical insurance companies for civil servants, judges, etc), Prof. Maar writes a detailed ‘absorption of costs’ application to the medical insurance companies. Experience shows that the Beihilfekassen and private insurance companies accept the entire cost of treatment including all required medications. Recent case law and information from medical lawyers shows that private medical insurance companies and Beihilfekassen are legally obliged to pay for the cost of complementary therapy. We can help you with legal assistance and/or information on policy judgments regarding the financing of this therapy.

At the beginning of treatment, you will sign a detailed treatment contract, which provides information on cost, duration of treatment and the type of invoicing. You will be billed on weekly basis.

4. Following therapy

Following the first prolonged intensive therapy phase, a final consultation takes place; we will provide you with photocopies of all the points.

They will contain arrangements for further medicinal therapy and further conventional medical, radiological and laboratory-based control examinations (in this context, incidentally, we often notice how little organised oncology aftercare (tumor aftercare) many patients are provided with).

After talking about any open issues, we use this final consultation to discuss the possibility of or need for interval therapy (repeated therapy). It takes less time and has the important objective of boosting an immune system that is always getting worn down again, thus preventing the risk of further metastasis. This interval therapy is also dependent on the result of the control examinations after the first intensive therapy (e.g., behaviour of primary tumor or metastases). This interval therapy can be repeated several times. The initial extended treatment can also be repeated after a certain period.

5. Concluding remarks

The intensive therapy by Maar combines many or almost all plausible modes of action into a complementary, interlocking and complex mechanism. According to many patients, this therapy truly deserves the name “intensive therapy”.

The therapy has four objectives:
• strategic strengthening of the immune system
• destruction or destabilisation of tumor cells in the primary tumors, the cells of the metastases and, above all, the micro-metastases.
• prevention of recurrences
• improvement of the general health condition

1. Vorbereitung

Nehmen Sie im ersten Schritt Kontakt mit uns auf, im Optimalfall telefonisch, um einen Termin für ein erstes Informationsgespräch zu vereinbaren. Wichtig: Sie (bzw. der Patient) müssen selbst in die Praxis kommen und in Fotokopie sämtliche schulmedizinische Unterlagen mitbringen. Es reicht nicht, nur die Unterlagen per E-Mail zu übersenden. Für dieses ausführliche Erstgespräch erheben wir eine Gebühr von 65 € .

Im Erstgespräch erörtern wir die Krebssituation ausführlich. Sollte sich dabei die Notwendigkeit weiterer Untersuchungen ergeben, so werden diese von Prof. Dr. Maar in die Wege geleitet. Z.B. könnte eine genauere Metastasenlokalisierung und -ausdehnung durch ein F-PET-Cholin CT erforderlich sein.

Am Ende dieses ersten orientierenden Gespräches überlegen Sie in Ruhe, ob die vorgeschlagene Behandlung gemacht werden soll. Über Dauer und Kosten der Therapie wurde aufgeklärt und darauf hingewiesen, dass „Tagesklinik“ bedeutet, dass in der Praxis Ruhemöglichkeiten gegeben sind und über längere Zeit täglich behandelt werden muss.

Aus juristischen Gründen unterschreiben Sie bzw. der Patient einen ausführlichen Behandlungsvertrag. Selbstverständlich kann die Behandlung auch im Anschluss noch jederzeit unterbrochen oder vorzeitig beendet werden. Getrennt vom Behandlungsvertrag muss eine Honorarvereinbarung unterschrieben werden.

2. Behandlung

Patienten mit längerer Anreise müssen sich für die Zeit der Therapie eine Unterbringung organisieren – dabei unterstützen wir gerne. Zur Behandlung selbst sind z.B. Pyjama und verschiedene Badehandtücher mitzubringen. Je nach Schweregrad der Erkrankung muss man sich auf eine Behandlungsdauer von 2 bis 6 Wochen einstellen. Diese Behandlung findet Montag bis Freitag für täglich ca. 5 Stunden statt. In Ausnahmefällen wird auch am Wochenende behandelt. Die Behandlung stellt eine Intensivtherapie dar.

Ausführliche Informationen zur konkreten Behandlung finden Sie unter „Unser Behandlungskonzept“.

3. Formale Bedingungen

Bei Privatpatienten bzw. Beihilfe Patienten schreibt Prof. Maar einen ausführlichen Kostenübernahmeantrag an die Kassen. Erfahrungsgemäß übernehmen die Beihilfe und die privaten Kassen die gesamte Behandlung einschließlich der Medikamente in vollem Umfang. Neuste Rechtsprechungen und Auskünfte von Medizinjuristen zeigen, dass private Kassen und Beihilfen die Komplementäre Therapie übernehmen müssen. Juristische Hilfen bzw. Informationen zu Grundsatzurteilen bei der Finanzierung dieser Therapie werden gegeben.

Zu Beginn der Behandlung wird ein ausführlicher Behandlungsvertrag, der über Kosten, Zeitdauer der Therapie und die Art der Rechnungsstellung informiert, unterzeichnet. Die Rechnungen werden wöchentlich gestellt.

4. Nach der Therapie

Nach der Phase der ersten längeren Intensivtherapie erfolgt ein Abschlussgespräch; sämtliche Punkte händigen wir Ihnen in Fotokopie aus.

Darin werden die weitere medikamentöse Therapie sowie die weiteren schulmedizinischen, radiologisch und labormäßigen Kontrollen angeordnet (in diesem Zusammenhang fällt übrigens oft auf, wie wenig organisierte onkologische Nachsorge (Tumornachsorge) viele Patienten haben).

Nach der Erörterung Ihrer möglicherweise offenen diskutieren wir im Rahmen dieses Abschlussgespräches auch die Möglichkeit bzw. Notwendigkeit einer Intervalltherapie (Wiederholungstherapie). Diese umfasst einen wesentlich kürzeren Zeitraum und hat den wichtigen Gesichtspunkt, ein sich immer wieder abnutzendes Immunsystem zu stärken und damit der Gefahr einer weiteren Metastasierung vorzubeugen. Diese Intervalltherapie ist auch abhängig von dem Resultat der Kontrolluntersuchungen nach der ersten Intensivtherapie (z.B. Verhalten von Primärumor oder Metastasen). Diese Intervalltherapie kann auch öfter wiederholt werden. Auch kann je nach Dringlichkeit die erste längere Therapie nach einiger Zeit wiederholt werden.

5. Abschließende Bemerkungen

Die Intensivtherapie nach Maar bündelt in einzigartiger Weise viele bzw. fast alle plausibel erscheinenden Wirkungsweisen zu einem zahnradartig sich ergänzenden komplexen Mechanismus. Nach Aussagen vieler Patienten verdient diese Therapie auch den Namen „Intensivtherapie“. Die Therapie hat vier Ziele:

  1. die strategische Immunstärkung
  2. die Abtötung bzw. Destabilisierung von Tumorzellen im Primärtumor, den Zellen der Metastasen und vor allen Dingen der Mikrometastasen.
  3. Verhinderung von Rezidiven
  4. Verbesserung des Allgemeinzustandes